I’m Juicy!

January 13, 2011

Hi Everybody!  I’m as high as a kite!  Thanks, HealthyJuicer!  

I got my very first juicer today and I love it so far.  It’s a masticating juicer, as opposed to the more common centrifugal ejection style juicer like the one below.

The Jack LaLanne brand that you see on all of the infomercials is a centrifugal ejection juicer.  These are electric models with a food processor style feeding chute which you push fruits and veggies into and it shreds them into pulp which then shoots out the back while the juice falls through a mesh strainer and into your glass.  Those are great and all, but they don’t work well on leafy greens like Kale, Spinach, Parsley, or Wheatgrass.  To juice greens, you need a masticating juicer.

I bought a HealthyJuicer on Amazon for $45 so that I could juice my greens as well as fruits and veggies.  It’s actually made specifically for wheatgrass, but I really have no interest in doing little shots of grass at this point.  I just wanted a simple juicer that was quiet, easy to clean, and could juice leafy greens as well as veggies and fruit.   Electric masticating juicers are usually pretty pricey (around $300) but I found a manual juicer with good reviews and decided to try it out.  Here’s a demo vid.

So far, so good.  I just drank 6 stalks of celery, 6 carrots, a garlic clove, 6 cherry tomatoes, 1/4 head of green cabbage, and an orange.  (Pretty much all of the produce in my fridge)  All of that produce made about 12 oz of unattractive greenish red juice that actually tasted pretty decent considering I just threw everything I had in the fridge into a juicer.  The garlic clove was a little overpowering.  I added a pinch of celery salt and some ice cubes, but those are the only additions.  I didn’t have any greens to experiment with, but I’m anxious to go to the store tomorrow and see what I can get.

Please note that the tomatoes and oranges did not juice well by themselves.  They get turned into pulp extremely well, but then the pulp just sort of squishes around the auger chamber as you crank the handle.  I ran some celery and cabbage through after the soft fruits and it cleaned out the auger chamber nicely.  So, if you’re planning on making tomato juice or orange juice by themselves, this is not the juicer for you.  If you want to make mixed vegetable and fruit juices, just make sure you run your soft produce through before the tough or fibrous veggies so that it will push all of that pulp on through.

Also, you really need to make sure to use the clamp to keep the juicer held down when juicing carrots since you’re putting 5 or 6 pounds of force on that crank.  I imagine that if you were only using it for wheat grass though, you could easily get by with just the suction cup.

I’m no stranger to juice, but except for citrus I’ve never made my own .  I usually don’t drink sodas, so water, tea, and juice (and beer) are my go-to beverages.  I always have low sodium or spicy V8 in the fridge along with some cranberry and OJ, but I’ve never gotten high from it.  Not so with fresh, raw veggie squeezins.  Because I basically chugged an entire bowl of fruit and veggies in 10 seconds,  I think a mega-dose of vitamins and minerals hit my bloodstream all at the same time and I was all revved up and ready to go.

That was some finger snapping, hand jiving, dish-washing, get-up-and-go-juice.  In fact, that’s what I’m going to name my first juice recipe once I perfect it.  I need to hit some juice websites so that I can get some recipes for inspiration though.  I’ll probably be writing more about this topic, but if I really get into juicing I’ll just go ahead and start a separate juice blog instead of flooding my fun blog with juice topics.  I should check to see if HealthyJuicer has an affiliate sales program.  I know Amazon does.  Hmm.

Sooo…What’s your favorite juice?

If any of my readers have any juice recipes or good juice site recommendations, or you just want to say hi, please leave them in a comment below. Thanks!

3 Responses to “I’m Juicy!”


  1. Excellent blog about I’m Juicy! Mental Biscuits. I read it twice.

  2. Jeanette Says:

    I wandered over to your blog after reading your Amazon review of the Healthy Juicer. Thanks so much for posting the video. After many hours of research, I’ve decided this low cost, low impact juicer is my best choice for giving juicing a try.


Leave a Reply

